Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

Dorian le Gallienne Composition Award


Dorian le Gallienne Composition Award

The Dorian le Gallienne Composition Trust Award was established in 1964 by subscribers in memory of Dorian le Gallienne, a Melbourne composer who taught composition in the Conservatorium between 1954 and 1960 and who died in 1963. Melbourne University became trustee of the fund in 1998.

The award is made biennially in June on the recommendation of the Dorian le Gallienne Award Committee to a composer resident in Victoria whom the committee considers merits recognition and encouragement. The committee commissions the winner to compose a chamber composition to be completed and performed within such period as the committee determines.


Recipients of this award

Year Placing Awarded to Awarded for
1965 Recipient Helen Gifford
1966 Recipient Graham Hair
1969 Recipient Leslie Howard
1970 Recipient Anthony Kitchen
1971 Recipient Eric Austin-Phillips
1972 No award
1973 Recipient Wayne Madden
1975 Recipient Mark Foster
1976 Recipient Evan Duggan
1978 Recipient Barry McKimm String trio
1980 Recipient Robert Smallwood
1982 Recipient Felix Meagher
1986 Recipient Graeme Denniss
1987 Recipient Andre Catrice
1988 Recipient Mary Finsterer
1989 Recipient Liza Lim
1990 Recipient David Horowicz
1991 Recipient Peter Myers
1992 Recipient Cindy John
1993 Recipient Stuart Greenbaum Ice man
1994 Recipient Thomas Reiner
1995 Recipient Christine McCombe Between silence and rage
1996 No award
2001 Recipient Katy Abbott Sunburnt aftertones
2003 Recipient Katherine Rawlings Remembering kindness
2007 Recipient Andrián Pertout
2009 Recipient Kevin March
2011 Recipient Annie Hsieh
2013 Recipient Elliott Hughes
2015 Recipient Anthony Lyons
2019 Recipient Lisa Cheney
2023 Recipient Robert McIntyre Our Duty to Care