Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

Paul Lowin Orchestral Prize


Paul Lowin Orchestral Prize

The Paul Lowin Orchestral Prize is awarded to a work scored for modern chamber or symphony orchestra of at least 12-15 minutes duration and with at least 30 players and at least 15 independent lines. The award is a cash prize of $25,000.



Recipients of this award

Year Placing Awarded to Awarded for
1991 Winner Julian Yu Hsiang-wen
1994 Winner Julian Yu Three symphonic poems
1997 Winner Georges Lentz Caeli enarrant I
1999 Highly Commended Gerard Brophy Merge
1999 Winner Michael Smetanin Shape of things to pass
2001 Highly Commended Gerard Brophy Yo yai pakebi, man mai yapobi
2001 Highly Commended Brett Dean Pastoral symphony
2001 Winner Nigel Butterley Spell of creation
2004 Winner Liza Lim Ecstatic architecture
2004 Highly Commended Rosà Lind Page Fracture
2006 Highly Commended Brett Dean Vexations and devotions
2006 Winner Brett Dean Viola concerto
2006 Highly Commended Gerard Brophy Concerto in blue
2006 Highly Commended Georges Lentz Monh
2006 Highly Commended Michael Smetanin Mysterium cosmographicum
2009 Highly Commended Julian Yu Sinfonia chaconnissima
2009 Winner Mary Finsterer In praise of darkness
2009 Highly Commended Carl Vine Symphony No. 7 : scenes from daily life
2013 Highly Commended Mark Isaacs Invocations
2013 Highly Commended Brett Dean The last days of Socrates
2013 Highly Commended Andrew Ford Blitz
2013 Winner Nigel Westlake Missa Solis - Requiem for Eli
2016 Highly Commended Cathy Milliken Earth plays : ├×ingvellir
2016 Winner Lachlan Skipworth Concerto for clarinet and orchestra
2016 Highly Commended James Ledger Golden years
2019 Highly Commended Lachlan Skipworth Spiritus
2019 Winner Nigel Westlake Spirit of the Wild
2019 Highly Commended Brett Dean Cello Concerto
2022 Winner Paul Dean Symphony no. 1 : Black Summer
2022 Highly Commended Anne Cawrse The Rest Is Silence
2022 Highly Commended Matthew Hindson Soprano Saxophone Concerto