Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

Don Banks Music Award


Don Banks Music Award

This award publicly honours the outstanding and sustained contribution by a senior artist to music in Australia. It was established in honour of Don Banks, Australian composer, performer and the first Chair of the Music Board.

The Australia Council Don Banks Music Award is granted only once in an individual’s lifetime.


Recipients of this award

Year Placing Awarded to Awarded for
1984 Recipient Larry Sitsky
1985 Recipient Nigel Butterley
1986 Recipient Felix Werder
1987 Recipient Martin Wesley-Smith
1988 Recipient Brian Howard
1989 Recipient Ross Edwards
1990 Recipient Colin Brumby
1991 Recipient Ros Bandt
1992 Recipient George Dreyfus
1993 Recipient Moya Henderson
1994 Recipient Roger Smalley
1996 Recipient Richard Mills
1997 Recipient Richard Meale
1998 Recipient Bernie McGann
1999 Recipient Brenton Broadstock
2000 Recipient Bunna Lawrie
2001 Recipient Allan Browne
2003 Recipient John Curro
2004 Recipient Jan Sedivka
2005 Recipient Carl Vine
2006 Recipient Richard Gill
2007 Recipient Peter Sculthorpe
2008 Recipient Bob Sedergreen
2009 Recipient Tony Gould
2010 Recipient Warren Fahey
2011 Recipient Belinda Webster
2012 Recipient Jon Rose
2013 Recipient Kev Carmody
2014 Recipient Mike Nock
2015 Recipient Archie Roach
2016 Recipient Brett Dean
2017 Recipient Lyn Williams
2018 Recipient Liza Lim
2019 Recipient David Bridie
2020 Recipient Deborah Conway
2021 Recipient William Barton
2022 Recipient Judy Bailey
2023 Recipient Deborah Cheetham Fraillon