Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Art Music Awards: Work of the Year: Vocal/Choral

  • Presented by: Australian Music Centre and APRA AMCOS
  • Awarded: Annually since 2002 . This prize is no longer awarded.
  • Browse other prizes & awards

From 2020 choral works are awarded under the category "Work of the Year: Choral".

From 2020 vocal works are awarded under the categories "Work of the Year: Chamber Music" and "Work of the Year: Large Ensemble".

Read about the changes to the 2020 Art Music Awards categories.


Recipients of this award

Year Placing Awarded to Awarded for
2011 Finalist Helen Gifford Iphigenia in exile
2011 Winner Paul Stanhope Deserts of exile
2011 Finalist Andrew Schultz Beach burial, op.78
2012 Finalist Gerardo Dirié Pomegranate Friends
2012 Winner Clare Maclean Osanna mass
2012 Finalist Iain Grandage Blackwood
2012 Finalist Ross Edwards Sacred kingfisher psalms
2013 Winner Stephen Leek Songs of our journey
2013 Finalist James Ledger — James Ledger and Paul Kelly Conversations with Ghosts
2013 Finalist Robert Davidson We apologise
2013 Finalist Katy Abbott The domestic sublime
2014 Winner Andrew Ford Last words
2014 Finalist Gordon Hamilton MOON - an epic song of love
2014 Finalist Eve Klein The Pomegranate Cycle
2014 Finalist Sandra France From a Black Sky
2015 Winner Iain Grandage The Riders
2015 Finalist Dan Walker Mass of deliverance
2015 Finalist Joseph Twist How shall we sing in a strange land...
2015 Finalist Stephen Adams Afterwards
2016 Finalist Elliott Gyger Fly away Peter
2016 Finalist Andrew Schultz Paradise, op. 95
2016 Finalist Paul Jarman Malala
2016 Winner Andrew Schultz Le Molière imaginaire, op. 99
2017 Finalist Paul Stanhope Agnus Dei
2017 Finalist Kate Neal Permission to speak
2017 Finalist Katie Noonan, Paul Dean, Andrew Ford, Paul Grabowsky, Iain Grandage, David Hirschfelder, Elena Kats-Chernin, John Rodgers, Richard Tognetti and Carl Vine for 'With Love and Fury'
2017 Winner Liza Lim Tree of Codes : cut-outs in time
2018 Finalist Andrew Ford Comeclose and sleepnow : six Liverpool love songs
2018 Finalist Anne Cawrse On Earth as in Heaven
2018 Winner Mary Finsterer Biographica
2019 Finalist Alice Chance The Audience Choir
2019 Finalist Andrew Ford The Drowners
2019 Winner Damien Ricketson The Howling Girls