Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

Ian Potter Music Commission


Ian Potter Music Commission

Established in 1999, The Ian Potter Music Commissions are Australia’s premier music composition awards. Presented biennially, the Commissions are conducted by The Ian Potter Cultural Trust and judged by some of Australia’s most respected music artists, conductors and composers. The Music Commissions were established in 1999, to help put the spotlight on composition of new Australian music, an area that had been overlooked for some time yet should play a central role in our cultural and artistic landscape.


Recipients of this award

Year Placing Awarded to Awarded for
1999 Commission Dominik Karski Matter of Perspective
2003 Commission Tim Dargaville Rubia
2005 Established Composer Richard Mills
2005 Emerging Composer Damian Barbeler
2007 Emerging Composer Anthony Pateras
2007 Established Composer Liza Lim
2009 Established Composer Fellow Gordon Kerry $80.000 to compose five new works
2009 Emerging Composer Fellowship Iain Grandage $20,000 to produce chamber music series Indian Ocean Songs