Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

20 November 2018

2018 Screen Music Awards - Yeo, Tyson-Chew, Skubiszewski

Cezary Skubiszewski with Jan Skubiszewski in the background. Image: Cezary Skubiszewski with Jan Skubiszewski in the background.  
Caitlin Yeo with APRA's Dean Ormston.

AMC-represented screen composer Caitlin Yeo has won two of the 2018 Screen Music Awards - the Best Soundtrack Album and the Feature Film Score of the Year - for her music for the coming-of-age tale The Butterfly Tree. Staged jointly by APRA AMCOS and the AGSC (Australian Guild of Screen Composers), the Screen Music Awards were celebrated on Monday night at the City Recital Hall in Sydney, with composers of music for TV, online, film and advertising awarded in 12 categories.

This year's winners also included Nerida Tyson-Chew, who took home the Award for the Best Music for Children's Television for her music in the series The Deep (episode 'The Missing'). The son-and-father team Jan and Cezary Skubiszewski were awarded the Best Music for a Television Series or Serial for their music for Picnic at Hanging Rock.

Nerida Tyson-Chew.

Producer and director Robert Connolly received his Distinguished Services to Australian Screen Award, presented by Nigel Westlake, the composer of the score for Connolly's film Paper Planes. Westlake said,

'You would be hard pressed to find another individual who has given voice to the artistry of so many Australian composers, a man who has nurtured our community and provided the resources for our local talent to shine and realise their craft so thoroughly and with absolute integrity. The opportunity to work with Rob on Paper Planes was a highlight of my career. He is a filmmaker of the utmost integrity, a storyteller of immense facility, and has always believed in the power of cinema as a force for good.'

Musical Director of the evening was Jessica Wells, who led an orchestra performing extracts of the nominated Feature Film Score of the Year works throughout the ceremony.

> For a full list of the 2018 Screen Music Awards winners, see APRA AMCOS website. See also this news article about the 2018 nominees on Resonate.

Subjects discussed by this article:


Be the first to share add your thoughts and opinions in response to this article.

You must login to post a comment.