Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


The Human Progress (solo piano)

by Natalya Vagner (2018)

Human Progress


Add to cart


The Human Progress : piano / Natalya Vagner.

Library shelf no. 786.2/VAG 1 [Available for loan]

Work Overview

The Human Progress composition is a blend of elements drawn from jazz, classical, avant-garde and improvisational styles of music. It is inspired by the Yuval Harari Noah book Sapiens: the short history of humankind (2014). It is an ambitious work that describes humans as species on this planet. This composition is in three movements: the past, the present and a future of human kind.

Work Details

Year: 2018

Instrumentation: Piano.

Duration: 15 min.

Difficulty: Advanced — For a professional concert pianist

Contents note: In three movements.

Dedication note: Dedicated to Michael Kieran Harvey

Commission note: Commissioned by Melbourne Composers' League for performance by Michael Kieran Harvey.

First performance: by Michael Kieran Harvey at FORUM - Ancestress (Museum of Old and New Art (MONA)) on 24 Nov 2019

The composer has noted the following styles, genres, influences, etc. associated with this work:
S. Prokofiev, S. Stravinsky, Reich, Satie.


The Human Progress (Part 1 - The Past)
The Human Progress (Part 2 - The Present)
The Human Progress (Part 3 - The Future)


Performances of this work

24 Nov 2019: at FORUM - Ancestress (Museum of Old and New Art (MONA)). Featuring Michael Kieran Harvey.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.