Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

2018 Art Music Awards

The recipients of the 2018 Art Music Awards were revealed in a gala event held at Melbourne's Plaza Ballroom on Tuesday evening 21 August 2018. Presented each year by APRA AMCOS and the Australian Music Centre, these Awards recognise achievement in the composition, performance, education and presentation of Australian art music. The live performance program of the ceremony was curated by pianist and passionate exponent of contemporary music, Gabriella Smart. Actor, director, and entertainer Jonathan Biggins hosted the event.

A full list of winners below. For more information about the event and the winning and finalist works, please see this news article on Resonate (21 August 2018), comments by judging panels and an earlier news article about the finalist announcement (Resonate 17 July 2018).

2018 Art Music Awards - winners

Vocal / Choral Work of the Year

Title: Biographica
Composer: Mary Finsterer; libretto by Tom Wright
Performer: Sydney Chamber Opera, Ensemble Offspring, Jack Symonds (conductor)

Jazz Work of the Year

Title: American Counterpoint
Composer: Matthew Sheens
Performer: Zephyr String Quartet, Matthew Sheens, Lyndon Gray, Myele Manzanza

Instrumental Work of the Year

Title: Cantor (after Willa Cather)
Composer: Lisa Illean
Performer: Ensemble Offspring

Orchestral Work of the Year

Title: Concerto for Trombone and Orchestra
Composer: Paul Stanhope
Performer: Joshua Davis (trombone), West Australian Symphony Orchestra, Asher Fisch (conductor)

Performance of the Year

Performer: Eighth Blackbird
Title: Lobster Tales and Turtle Soup
Composer: Holly Harrison

Award for Excellence by an Organisation

• Tura New Music for 30 years of presenting, producing, commissioning, exhibiting, publishing, advocating and supporting Australian art music

Award for Excellence by an Individual

Carl Vine AO for 2017 activities

Award for Excellence in Music Education

• Young Music Society Inc. (ACT) for 50 years of community youth music activity

Award for Excellence in a Regional Area

• Big hART for Acoustic Life of Sheds

Award for Excellence in Experimental Music

• Chamber Made for Between 8 and 9 (Chengdu Teahouse Project) with lead artists Madeleine Flynn and Tim Humphrey

Award for Excellence in Jazz

Sandy Evans for rockpoolmirror

2018 State and Territory Awards

NSW State Award for Excellence in a Regional Area
Tyalgum Music Festival for the 2017 Tyalgum Music Festival

QLD Award for Excellence in Experimental Music
Vanessa Tomlinson, Leah Barclay and John Ferguson for 100 Ways to Listen

SA Award for Vocal/Choral Work of the Year
Anne Cawrse for On Earth as in Heaven

TAS Award for Orchestral Work of the Year
Maria Grenfell for Spirals for clarinet, bassoon and chamber orchestra

VIC Award for Excellence by an Organisation
Move Records for 50 years of recording and release of new music

WA Award for Performance of the Year
Louise Devenish, Leah Scholes and Vanessa Tomlinson for Never Tilt Your Chair Back by Kate Neal

Pictured (from top): Mary Finsterer; Matthew Duvall (Eighth Blackbird) and composer Holly Harrison; Tura New Music's Tos Mahoney and Annalisa Oxenburgh; Andrew Viney, big hART; Chamber Made's Tim Stitz and Tamara Saulwick; Robyn Holmes.

All photos © Tegan Louise / APRA AMCOS