Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

2 December 2020

2020 Screen Music Awards - winners

Amanda Brown Image: Amanda Brown  

Winners of the 2020 Screen Music Awards include the AMC-represented artists Amanda Brown and Nerida Tyson-Chew, recipient of the 2020 Distinguished Services to the Australian Screen Award. The 2020 Screen Music Awards were held on Tuesday 1 December as a virtual event - the ceremony will remain available for watching for about a month via the APRA AMCOS YouTube Channel (the tribute to Nerida Tyson Chew starts at 39'20'' into the video).

Amanda Brown won her Award in the category 'Best Music for a TV Series or Serial', for her music in the Australian psychological drama The Secrets She Keeps (Network Ten), based on the novel of the same name by Michael Robotham.

The Feature Film Score of the Year category was taken out by Jed Kurzel for True History of the Kelly Gang, based on Peter Carey's novel and directed by Jed's brother Justin Kurzel.

Watch & listen to the tribute to Nerida Tyson-Chew, recipient of the Distinguished Services
to Australian Screen Award, followed by her acceptance speech. (YouTube).

First-time nominee Antonio Gambale won two categories: Best Music for a Mini-Series or Telemovie and Best Television Theme, both for his music for the Netflix series Unorthodox. The Best Original Song Composed for the Screen went to David Bridie and co-writer Tom Murray for 'Ballad of the Bridge Builders', performed by Archie Roach in the film The Skin of Others.

Producer-composer François Tétaz took home the Award for the Best Soundtrack Album, for his work on the Australian feature film Judy & Punch. Ned Beckley and Josh Hogan won the Best Music for Children's Television category for their music for Thalu (ABC Me), a series about a group of Indigenous children who undertake a journey to save their country from the threat of a mysterious dust cloud and its inhabitants.

Luke Howard won the Award for the Best Music for a Short Film for The Sand That Ate The Sea, a project documenting the land and community of Andamooka, an opal-mining town in South Australia. Matteo Zingales received the award for the Best Music for a Documentary, for Machine, a film about Artificial Intelligence.

For a full list of categories and winners, please see the APRA AMCOS website.

The 2020 Screen Music Awards were hosted by Justine Clarke, Meyne Wyatt and Claudia Karvan. Musical Director Jessica Wells led an orchestra that performed each of the nominated Feature Film Score of the Year compositions. The orchestra was joined by actress, singer and playwright Ursula Yovich for a performance of David Bridie and Tom Murray's award-winning song 'Ballad of the Bridge Builders'. The orchestra closed the show with a special tribute to Distinguished Services recipient Nerida Tyson-Chew.

> Screen Music Awards - APRA AMCOS

Subjects discussed by this article:


Be the first to share add your thoughts and opinions in response to this article.

You must login to post a comment.