Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


The Oresteia : memory theatre (opera) in 7 parts based on Aeschylus' drama

by Barrie Kosky, Liza Lim and Liza Lim (1993)



This item may be available to purchase from the Australian Music Centre.
Please contact our Sales Department to confirm pricing and availability.



This item is available for sale but is currently unable to be purchased online.
Please contact our Sales Department to place an order.

Work Details

Year: 1993

Instrumentation: Soprano, 2 mezzo-soprano, counter tenor, tenor and baritone voices ; alto flute/piccolo, clarinet/bass clarinet, oboe/cor anglais, trumpet/piccolo trumpet, trombone, Turkish baglama saz, electric guitar, viola/viola d'amore, cello, double bass, percussion ; dancer.

Duration: 75 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

Commission note: Commissioned by Elision Ensemble, Treason of Images with funds provided by Australia Council. Performing Arts Board.

Text devised by Liza Lim & Barrie Kosky drawn from the following sources: Tony Harrison - Agamemnon; Aeschylus - The Oresteia ; Sappho - The stars and the moon.


Performances of this work

16 May 93: Theatreworks, Melbourne.. Featuring Sandro Gorli.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.