Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Piano concerto No. 2 : for piano and orchestra

by Carl Vine (2012)

Selected products featuring this work — Display all products (1 more)

Piano concerto No.2


Add to cart


Piano concerto No.2 : for piano and orchestra / Carl Vine.

Library shelf no. Q 784.262186/VIN 2 [Not for loan]

Display all products featuring this work (1 more)  

Work Overview

The idea to tackle a second piano concerto came from my friends, Geoff and Vicki Ainsworth, who turned out to be the principal commissioners of the work. The Sydney Symphony Orchestra generously offered a vehicle for the first performances, and agreed that Piers Lane would be the perfect soloist. The notion of composing music tailored to a specific performer implies that they have strengths to be celebrated and, conversely, weaknesses to be ameliorated. Piers Lane appears to be unbelievably good at everything on the keyboard, so writing music for him brings a liberating sense of having unfettered reign over the instrument. Although this work has no narrative or extra-musical provenance, I have named its three movements to suggest their predominant characters: Rhapsody, Nocturne, and Cloudless Blue. The first two speak for themselves, although 'nocturnal' here includes some surprisingly energetic activity. The third could be called 'diurnal' to balance its nocturnal neighbour, but that word carries no musical history while also failing to capture the sense of brilliant Australian summer that I wanted to summon in a presto finale. Carl Vine, April 2012

Work Details

Year: 2012

Instrumentation: Solo piano, piccolo, flute, oboe, cor anglais, clarinet (Bb), bass clarinet, bassoon, contrabassoon, 4 horns (F), 2 trumpets (C), tenor trombone, bass trombone, tuba, timpani, percussion (2 players), harp, strings.

Duration: 25 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

Contents note: Rhapsody -- Nocturne -- Cloudless blue.

Dedication note: Dedicated to Geoff Ainsworth, Vicki Ainsworth

Written for: Piers Lane

Commission note: Commissioned by Sydney Symphony, London Symphony Orchestra.

First performance: by Piers Lane, Sydney Symphony, Hugo Wolff at Sydney Symphony: Vine, Debussy, Brahms (Sydney Opera House, Concert Hall) on 22 Aug 2012

Awards & Prizes

Year Award Placing Awarded for/to
2013 Art Music Awards: Work of the Year: Orchestral Finalist Carl Vine


Performances of this work

30 Dec 2017: at Mariinsky Orchestra plays Vine (Mariinsky Theatre Concert Hall). Featuring Valery Gergiev, Mariinsky Orchestra, Mira Yevtich.

17 Oct 12: Royal Festival Hall, London. Featuring Vassily Sinaisky, Piers Lane, London Philharmonic Orchestra.

7 Sep 2012: at TSOMax (Federation Concert Hall, Hobart). Featuring Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra, Piers Lane, Marko Letonja.

25 Aug 2012: at Sydney Symphony: Vine, Debussy, Brahms (Sydney Opera House, Concert Hall). Featuring Piers Lane, Sydney Symphony, Hugo Wolff.

24 Aug 2012: at Sydney Symphony: Vine, Debussy, Brahms (Sydney Opera House, Concert Hall). Featuring Hugo Wolff, Sydney Symphony, Piers Lane.

22 Aug 2012: at Sydney Symphony: Vine, Debussy, Brahms (Sydney Opera House, Concert Hall). Featuring Sydney Symphony, Piers Lane, Hugo Wolff.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.