Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Strung-out : 8 violins, 2 violas, 2 cellos, double bass

by Roger Smalley (1988)



Add to cart


Strung-out / Roger Smalley.

Library shelf no. Q 785.719/SMA 1 [Available for loan]



This item may be available to purchase from the Australian Music Centre.
Please contact our Sales Department to confirm pricing and availability.

Work Details

Year: 1988

Instrumentation: 8 violins, 2 violas, 2 cellos, double bass.

Duration: 14 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

Dedication note: Dedicated to David Blenkinsop

Commission note: Commissioned by University of Western Australia Department of Music with funds provided by Australia Council. Performing Arts Board.. Commissioned for the University's 75th anniversary

First performance: by Soloists of Australia, Roger Smalley — 20 Feb 88. Winthrop Hall, University of Western Australia, Perth


Harbour Noise is a Fatal Distraction
Roger Covell — © John Fairfax Group Pty Ltd
Source: Sydney Morning Herald, 27 September 1994

Book: Sydney Symphony Orchestra education programme 1993. Meet the music 3, resource kit.

Performances of this work

30 Apr 2018: at Camerata – Souvenir (QPAC Concert Hall). Featuring Camerata (Queensland's Chamber Orchestra).

28 Apr 2018: at Camerata - Souvenir (Empire Theatre (Toowoomba)). Featuring Camerata (Queensland's Chamber Orchestra).

13 Mar 2017: at ACO: Barbican Residency (Milton Court Concert Hall (Guildhall School of Music, London, UK)). Featuring Australian Chamber Orchestra, Richard Tognetti.

16 Jul 2016: at Arcko Symphonic: Into the Outer (Church of All Nations). Featuring Arcko Symphonic Ensemble, Timothy Phillips.

30 Apr 2011: at Arcko Symphonic Project: Pulling Strings II (Fitzroy Town Hall). Featuring Timothy Phillips, Arcko Symphonic Ensemble.

6 Aug 2010: at Evening Series (Townsville Civic Theatre). Featuring Camerata of St John's.

20 Feb 88: Winthrop Hall, University of Western Australia, Perth. Featuring Soloists of Australia, Roger Smalley.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.