Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Preludes: Book One (solo piano)

by Aristea Mellos (2022)

Selected products featuring this work — Display all products (1 more)

Preludes & Duets


This item may be available to purchase from the Australian Music Centre.
Please contact our Sales Department to confirm pricing and availability.

Display all products featuring this work (1 more)  

Work Overview

A set of 12 evocative piano miniatures composed during the Covid-19 pandemic. Each Prelude acts as a musical diary entry, documenting my thoughts and feelings during the course of several turbulent years in Australian and global history.

Work Details

Year: 2022

Instrumentation: Piano.

Duration: 44 min.

Difficulty: Advanced — Preludes range in difficulty from Grade 5 and above

Contents note: I. “A ghostly finger writes forgotten words (in the dust on the piano)” --  II. “Whoever you are, no matter how lonely…” -- III. “In the sun born over and over, I ran my heedless ways --  IV. “I can’t breathe” Part One -- V. “I can’t breathe” Part Two -- VI. “Me cansé de vivir me caso” --  VII. “…the magpies call you Jack and whistle…” -- VIII. “Let water run circle settle be” -- Prelude IX. “Caution! Endangered shorebirds are nesting” --  X. “Go to sleep my beloved, whilst I sing you a lullaby…” (Djoko’s Lullaby) -- XI. “Death is black” – XII. “Then peace to close the weary storm-wrecked years”.

Written for: Stephanie McCallum

Commission note: Commissioned with funds provided by Create NSW.. Composed for the Australian pianist Stephanie McCallum

The composer notes the following styles, genres, influences, etc in relation to this work:
Preludes, Debussy, Australian impressionism, Covid-19, lockdown, piano miniatures, programatic works, musical quotations, diary, Australian landscape, magpies, sandpipers, lullaby, black lives matter, isolation, the sea, Spain, war in Ukraine, peace


Resonate article: Aristea Mellos receives the 2023 Albert H. Maggs Award by Australian Music Centre


Performances of this work

10 Jul 2023: at Sydney International Piano Competition - Preliminary Round 2 Session 8 (Verbrugghen Hall).

26 Nov 22: Verbrugghen Hall, the Sydney Conservatorium of Music. Featuring Stephanie McCallum.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.