Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


In orbit : large chamber ensemble

by James Ledger (2011)

In orbit


Add to cart


In orbit / James Ledger.

Library shelf no. Q 785.3419/LED 1 [Available for loan]

Work Overview

In Orbit is written for two similar, but not identical sextets that are split left and right on the stage. The first sextet consists of flute, clarinet, violin, cello, double bass and piano. I thought of the second sextet as a kind of 'broken' ensemble to the first and it includes players doubling on recorders and a piano that is detuned to give it a kind of other-worldly sound.

The initial thoughts for this piece came from the surprising and often disturbing way the media can act in today's society. We have all seen images of a media scrum circling around a celebrity or politician. I thought that this was analogous to the thousands of satellites and pieces of space junk that orbit the earth. The structure of the piece reflects this - there are four smaller 'satellite' movements surrounding the large fourth movement entitled Endless Circus. In this movement, the second sextet circles around and harasses the first as if a media pack were hounding a celebrity.

The remaining movements all have astronomical titles. The final fifth movement called "Death of a Star" has a purposefully ambiguous title meaning either - star in the astronomical sense, or star as in popular celebrity.

Work Details

Year: 2011

Instrumentation: Sextet 1: Flute (doubling piccolo), clarinet in B flat (doubling bass clarinet), violin, cello, double bass, piano.Sextet 2:  Flute (doubling piccolo, alto flute, treble and tenor recorders), clarinet in B flat (doubling bass clarinet and tenor recorder), violin, cello, percussion (1 player: vibraphone, 2 suspended cymbals (small & large), tam-tam, bass drum, 2 bongos), piano.

Duration: 17 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

Contents note: 1. Towards the sun -- 2. Five thousand tonnes of space junk -- 3. The cold dark moon -- 4. Endless circus -- 5. Death of a star.

Commission note: Commissioned by Australian National Academy of Music (ANAM).

First performance: by Eighth Blackbird (Musical group), Australian National Academy of Music (ANAM) — 20 Sep 11. South Melbourne Town Hall

Performances of this work

20 Sep 11: South Melbourne Town Hall. Featuring Eighth Blackbird (Musical group), Australian National Academy of Music (ANAM).

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.