Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Piano concerto no. 3

by Elena Kats-Chernin (2018)

Also known as: Lebewohl

Score Sample

View a sample of the score of this work
This sample is from the Piano with orchestra version of this work

Versions of this work

Select from the following versions of this work to view more detailed information:

- Piano with orchestra

- Keyboard ensembles

Products featuring this work

Format Title Version AMC Library Price  


Piano Concerto No. 3 : 'Lebewohl' / Elena Kats-Chernin.

Piano with orchestra Available for loan $164.55 Add to cart

Work Overview

In the year 1720 something happened that changed the life of JS Bach forever. On returning from a trip to Karlsbad, he discovered that his wife of 12 years, Maria Barbara, had not only died during his absence but had been buried as well; all unbeknownst to him and during his absence. He was now a sole parent to their four remaining children. Lebewohl explores the circumstances, ramifications and regrets that shake his soul and faith to the core, leading to the eventual pouring of his heart into what would become his unrecognised elegy for his first love: the Chaconne. With words adapted from Martin Luther, JS Bach and other writings of the day, Elena Kats-Chernin delivers her third piano concerto as a series of contemplations on one of her primary inspirations and honours the 'forgotten' wife of the Baroque master.

Work Details

Year: 2018

Duration: 22 min.

Awards & Prizes

Year Award Placing Awarded for/to
2019 Art Music Awards: Work of the Year: Orchestral Finalist Elena Kats-Chernin


Resonate article: 2019 Art Music Awards - what the judges said by Australian Music Centre


Performances of this work

19 Jan 2021: at 12 Hands 6 Grands (Sydney Town Hall).

9 Nov 2018: at TSO: Brava! Kats-Chernin (Federation Concert Hall, Hobart). Featuring Tamara Anna Cislowska, Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra, Karina Canellakis.

6 Sep 2018: at QSO: Kats-Chernin premiere, & Beethoven, Prokofiev (QPAC Concert Hall). Featuring Queensland Symphony Orchestra, Alondra de la Parra, Tamara Anna Cislowska.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.