Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Sonata for Double Bass and Piano : Continental drift

by Stuart Greenbaum (2017)

Work Overview

This Sonata for Double Bass and Piano was written for ANAM as part of the Greenbaum Sonata Project (low string sonatas). Commissioned by the Music Board of the Australia Council for the Arts, it is the 10th in a series of sonatas undertaken in the new millennium.

The Melbourne Museum has a display of 6 spinning globes showing the state of the planet from over 4 billion years ago through to futuristic prediction of continental drift 100 million years hence. This work is in 6 movements, providing a musical reflection of our planetary evolution.

Work Details

Year: 2017

Instrumentation: Double bass, piano (bass may be gently amplified if desired).

Duration: 22 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

Contents note: I. 4.4 billion years ago - Molten Earth (4 min.)-- II. 3.8 billion years ago - Oceans cover the planet (2 min.) -- III. 2.2 billion years ago - First Ice Age (3 min.) -- IV. 105 million years ago - Green Earth (2 min.)-- V. Our Earth Today (6 min.) -- VI. 100 million years on - Future Earth (5 min.).

Commission note: Commissioned by Australian National Academy of Music (ANAM) with funds provided by Australia Council.. Written for ANAM Low String Sonatas Project


Sonata for Double Bass and Piano : Continental drift


Performances of this work

25 Oct 2019: at Greenbaum Sonata Project: Cello & Double Bass (South Melbourne Town Hall). Featuring Hamish Gullick, Peter de Jager.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.