Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

2013 Art Music Awards

The Art Music Awards are presented each year by the Australasian Performing Right Association (APRA) and the Australian Music Centre to recognise achievement in the composition, performance, education and presentation of Australian music. The Art Music Awards consist of eleven national awards and various State Awards across categories covering composition, performance, and outstanding contributions by individuals and organisations in Australian music (now two separate Awards), in music education, experimental music, jazz and regional music.


2013 Art Music Awards - winners

Winners or the 2013 Art Music Awards have been announced at a gala function hosted by Australian Music Centre and APRA AMCOS on Monday 26 August 2013 at the NIDA Parade Theatre in Sydney. The Awards ceremony was hosted by James Morrison, with a live performance program curated by Genevieve Lacey.

APRA and the AMC would like to extend congratulations to all of the winners of the 2013 Art Music Awards.

> See also: 2013 Art Music Awards - winners announced (news article on Resonate with more details, including judging panels' comments), a report from the Awards ceremony (Resonate 29 August 2013) and a news article about the finalists announcement (Resonate 1 August 2013)


Distinguished Services to Australian Music

George Dreyfus AM


Work of the Year: Orchestral

Title: Fire Music
Composer: Brett Dean
Performed by:              Adelaide Symphony Orchestra conducted by Brett Dean
Publisher:                    Hal Leonard Australia Pty Ltd


Work of the Year: Instrumental

Title:                             String Quintet
Composer:                   Gordon Kerry
Performed by:              Kuss Quartet with Naoko Shimizu

Work of the Year: Vocal/Choral

Title:                             Heritage in Song (from an original concept by Lyn Williams and Andrew Walsh)
Composer:                   Stephen Leek
Text:                             Stephen Leek
Performed by:              Sydney Children’s Choir conducted by Lyn Williams


Work of the Year: Jazz

Title:                             Anda Two
Composer:                   Marc Hannaford
Performed by:              The Marc Hannaford Trio


Performance of the Year

Performer:                   Members of the Australian Art Orchestra and the Sruthi Laya Ensemble
Title:                             Meetings at the Table of Time
Composer:                   Sandy Evans


Award for Excellence by an Organisation

Soundstream: Adelaide New Music Festival for the sustained promotion of new music

Award for Excellence by an Individual

Danielle Bentley for dedication and commitment to Australian art music and chamber music

Award for Excellence in Music Education

New England Conservatorium of Music for New England Sings!

Award for Excellence in a Regional Area

The Wired Lab and Country Arts SA for Southern Encounter

Award for Excellence in Experimental Music

The Wired Lab and Country Arts SA for Southern Encounter

Award for Excellence in Jazz

Jamie Oehlers for recording, touring and educational achievements in 2012


State Awards

Queensland State Award
Performer:       Linsey Pollak
Title:                 The Dream of Zedkat Nabu
Composer:       Linsey Pollak
Category:         Performance of the Year

Victorian State Award
Chamber Made Opera forThe Minotaur Trilogy (and their Living Room Opera Series)
Category: Excellence by an Organisation

Western Australian State Award
Tura New Music and The Australian Chamber Orchestra for The Reef Tour 2012
Category: Excellence in a Regional Area

ACT State Award
Nicole Canham for Hourglass
Category: Excellence by an Individual

New South Wales State Award
Moorambilla Voices for Moorambilla Voices Education Program
Category: Excellence in Music Education

South Australian State Award
Adelaide Symphony Orchestra and OzAsia Festival for Australian Emerging Composers Creative Workshops with Tan Dun
Category: Excellence in Music Education

Tasmanian State Award
Title:                 Ten Suns Ablaze
Composed by: Maria Grenfell
Performed by: The Australia Ensemble
Category:         Work of the Year: Instrumental  

Art Music Awards 2012 logo