Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

Toru Takemitsu Composition Award


Toru Takemitsu Composition Award

The Toru Takemitsu Composition Award is an annual international orchestral composition award following Takemitsu's principles "Prayer, Hope, Peace", continues since 1997 to encourage younger generation of composers who will shape the coming age by creating new musical works.

The nucleus of this award is in its uniqueness that each year only one judge is responsible for the outcome. For the first 3-year cycle, Mr Takemitsu himself chose the following three composers to head the competition : Henri Dutilleux (1997), György Ligeti (1998), and Luciano Berio (1999). Then, after Mr Takemitsu’s passing, the three successors, Louis Andriessen (2000 recommended by Berio), Oliver Knussen (2001 recommended by Dutilleux) and Joji Yuasa (2002 recommended by Ligeti) were nominated by the initial judges.


Recipients of this award

Year Placing Awarded to Awarded for
2004 Winner Paul Stanhope Fantasia on a theme of Vaughan Williams
2008 3rd Prize Damian Barbeler God in the machine