Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Art Music Awards: Award for Excellence by an Individual

  • Presented by: Australian Music Centre and APRA AMCOS
  • Awarded: Annually since 2013 . This prize is no longer awarded.
  • Browse other prizes & awards

From 2020 awarded under the category "Luminary Awards - National (Individual)".

Read about the changes to the 2020 Art Music Awards categories.


Recipients of this award

Year Placing Awarded to Awarded for
2013 Finalist Zubin Kanga 'Spectrum', a recital of newly commissioned piano music
2013 Finalist Cat Hope Supporting and growing new music in WA
2013 Winner Danielle Bentley commitment to Australian art music
2013 Finalist David Young 20 years of commissioning, curating and producing new Australian art music
2014 Finalist David Montgomery AMEB Project
2014 Winner Catherine Crock The Hush Collection, Volumes 1 -13
2014 Finalist Carl Vine exemplary contribution to Musica Viva Australia in 2013 as Artistic Director, and to the wider arts and cultural industry
2014 Finalist Kim Waldock Contribution to music education in Australia
2015 Winner Ross Edwards for his contribution to Australian chamber music
2015 Finalist Julian Day for excellence in researching, broadcasting and presenting the work of Australian musicians to a broad national and international public on broadcast and print media outlets
2015 Finalist Jeanell Carrigan for resurrecting the piano music of Meta Overman
2015 Finalist Peter Knight for leadership, composition, performance and curation
2016 Finalist Ros Dunlop for her sustained contribution to Australian music for over 30 years
2016 Winner Claire Edwardes for performance, advocacy and artistic leadership
2016 Finalist Andrée Greenwell for her work as composer and Artistic Director of Green Room Music
2016 Finalist Peter Knight for sustained contribution through composition, performance and leadership
2017 Finalist Cat Hope for performance, academia, composition, mentoring and advocacy
2017 Finalist Tos Mahoney for his work with new music in Western Australia in 2016
2017 Finalist David Bridie for the music project,
2017 Winner Daryl Buckley for over 30 years of contribution to the international projection of Australian contemporary performance, ideas and practice
2018 Finalist Connor D'Netto Outstanding Artistic Direction of ARGO during 2017
2018 Winner Carl Vine 2017 activities
2018 Finalist Keyna Wilkins activities in original art music throughout 2017 as a composer-musician including releasing three original albums.
2019 Finalist Brian Ritchie for sustained contribution to the Australian music sector as a performer, curator and mentor
2019 Finalist Cat Hope for leadership in the composition, performance and education of new music in Australia
2019 Winner Lyn Williams for significant contribution to the creation and performance of choral music in Australia
2019 Finalist Michelle Leonard for 25 years championing Australian Art music