Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

14 June 2011

Queen's Birthday honours 2011

Queen's Birthday honours 2011

The 2011 Queen's Birthday Honours list has recognised a number of Australians for their services to music.

Composer and music administrator Jonathan Mills was appointed an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) 'for distinguished service to the performing arts as a composer and director of international festivals, through the promotion of cultural exchange, and to public debate'. Mills is currently based in Edinburgh where he has been the director of the Edinburgh International Festival since 2007.

Solicitor Shane Simpson was appointed a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) 'for service to the law and to the arts through leading roles in intellectual property and entertainment law, and as a contributor to a range of cultural organisations'. Simpson has served on the boards of many music organisations and is currently chairman of the Peggy Glanville-Hicks Composers' House Trust.

A Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) was awarded to academic and music eductor Graham Bartle 'for service to music education', to the London-based composer John Carmichael 'for service to the arts as a concert pianist and composer' and to the music educator Jane-Helen Elton-Brown 'for service to music'.

Further links

The Queen's Birthday 2011 Honours list (Governor General of Australia website)

Subjects discussed by this article:

The Australian Music Centre connects people around the world to Australian composers and sound artists. By facilitating the performance, awareness and appreciation of music by these creative artists, it aims to increase their profile and the sustainability of their art form. Established in 1974, the AMC is now the leading provider of information, resources, materials and products relating to Australian new music.


Be the first to share add your thoughts and opinions in response to this article.

You must login to post a comment.