Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

18 November 2020

Nerida Tyson-Chew to receive the Distinguished Services to Australian Screen Award

Nerida Tyson-Chew Image: Nerida Tyson-Chew  

Nerida Tyson-Chew has been announced as the recipient of the 2020 Distinguished Services to the Australian Screen Award. This honour will be presented to her at the 2020 Screen Music Awards, a virtual event that will be streamed online to a global audience on Tuesday 1 December.

Known for her collaborative approach and versatility, Nerida Tyson-Chew has written music for feature films, television dramas, children's productions as well as numerous documentaries and wildlife films. Her credits include the new Australian feature film H is for Happiness; the BAFTA-nominated CBBC Canadian/Australian underwater animated adventure series The Deep; TV-series Rescue - Special Ops; Warner Bros Batman - The Animated Series; and the National Geographic Channel series Taboo. She was one of the first female composers scoring on productions in the US, and wrote the score for the 2004 Hollywood blockbuster Anacondas: The Hunt for the Blood Orchid.

Nerida Tyson-Chew said,

'I'm thrilled to bits to receive this prestigious honour from the Board of Directors of APRA AMCOS. Film composers by nature are at our best when no-one 'hears' our work but 'feels' it. Our bespoke music scores do more than set an atmosphere, establish a sense of a time, and create a sense of place. I'm having an exciting career as a sonic storyteller, creating bespoke film music and working with gifted, skilled craftspeople. For APRA AMCOS to recognise my body of work with this wonderful honour is a momentous experience for me and is also recognition for the talented musicians and masterful engineers that have joined my music team along the way.'

The annual Screen Music Awards are presented by APRA AMCOS in conjunction with the Australian Guild of Screen Composers (AGSC). The ceremony acknowledges excellence and innovation in the field of screen composition.

For a list of 2020 Screen Music Awards nominees please visit the APRA AMCOS website.

2020 Screen Music Awards

Tuesday 1 December from 7:00pm AEDT on YouTube Premiere
Hosted by Justine Clarke, Meyne Wyatt and Claudia Karvan
Musical Director Jessica Wells
RSVP to watch on Facebook

> Screen Music Awards - APRA AMCOS website

Subjects discussed by this article:


Be the first to share add your thoughts and opinions in response to this article.

You must login to post a comment.