Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

25 March 2021

MOMENTUM III commissions now online

MOMENTUM III commissions now online

Online concert presentation of the winning works by Anne Cawrse, Nicole Murphy and Elizabeth Younan unveils three strong, new works of Australian chamber music.

In November 2020, the Australian Music Centre and Sydney Conservatorium of Music, University of Sydney, announced the winners of the three MOMENTUM III - Sue W COVID-19 Special Commissions, generously sponsored by Mrs Sue Willgoss and Associate Professor Richard Willgoss. The three artists to receive a $3,200 commission each were Anne Cawrse, Nicole Murphy and Elizabeth Younan. The commission enabled them to compose a new musical work for performance as part of an online concert presentation in 2021.

The video presentation is now available and includes the world premiere studio performances of three works:

Anne Cawrse: Grounded for cello and guitar
performed by Sharon and Slava Grigoryan
Elizabeth Younan: Poem for violin and piano
performed by Anna Da Silva Chen and Vatche Jambazian
Nicole Murphy: Glimpse for piano duo
premiered by Anna Grinberg and Liam Viney

The program of these three works is preceded by a 20-minute zoom interview presented by Richard Willgoss, introducing the composers and discussing their new compositions in detail.

Together, the interview and the performances of the MOMENTUM III commissions give a fascinating insight into artists' work during the pandemic, as well as unveiling three strong new Australian chamber music works.

A special thank you goes to Richard Willgoss for his dedication to this project, and for realising the video presentation.

> More information about the background of MOMENTUM III commissions, as well as the three works, is also available on the MOMENTUM III subpage.

Subjects discussed by this article:


Be the first to share add your thoughts and opinions in response to this article.

You must login to post a comment.