Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

13 September 2011

Maggs Composition Award to Katy Abbott

Katy Abbott Image: Katy Abbott  
© Melbourne Headshot Company

Katy Abbott is the recipient of the 2011 Albert H Maggs Award for Composition. This award has been given annually since 1967 and comes in the form of a commission. Abbott will write a new work for performance in 2012-13.

Albert H. Maggs of Toorak, Victoria, was a bookmaker who presented a sum of money to the University of Melbourne for the purpose of founding a composition award to 'encourage and assist composers of classical music who might otherwise abandon their efforts for want of means'.

A list of all Albert H. Maggs Composition Award winners is available on the AMC website. For more information, see also Louise Hanson-Dyer Music Library (University of Melbourne) website.

Further links

Katy Abbott (AMC profile)
Katy Abbott (www.katyabbott.com)

Subjects discussed by this article:

The Australian Music Centre connects people around the world to Australian composers and sound artists. By facilitating the performance, awareness and appreciation of music by these creative artists, it aims to increase their profile and the sustainability of their art form. Established in 1974, the AMC is now the leading provider of information, resources, materials and products relating to Australian new music.


Be the first to share add your thoughts and opinions in response to this article.

You must login to post a comment.