Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

22 November 2011

Lincoln Center's Stoeger Prize to Brett Dean

Brett Dean Image: Brett Dean  

Composer Brett Dean has won a major American chamber music prize. The US$ 25,000 Elise L. Stoeger Prize is awarded every two years by the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center, NY, in recognition of significant contributions to chamber music composition.

Previous prize-winners include Oliver Knussen, Aaron Jay Kernis, Martin Bresnick, Osvaldo Golijov, Thomas Ad├Ęs, Michael Daugherty and Kaija Saariaho, among others.

The Elise L. Stoeger Prize was established in 1987 with a bequest from Milan Stoeger, a long-time subscriber to the Chamber Music Society, in memory of his wife, Elise. Winners are chosen from the nominations of leading musicians, composers, educators, managers, and presenters from around the USA.

In 2009, Dean was awarded the prestigious Grawemeyer Award for Music Composition for his violin concerto The Lost Art of Letter Writing.

AMC resources

Brett Dean - AMC profile
'Brett Dean wins Grawemeyer award' - news article on Resonate (2 December 2008)

Further links

The Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center

Subjects discussed by this article:

The Australian Music Centre connects people around the world to Australian composers and sound artists. By facilitating the performance, awareness and appreciation of music by these creative artists, it aims to increase their profile and the sustainability of their art form. Established in 1974, the AMC is now the leading provider of information, resources, materials and products relating to Australian new music.


Be the first to share add your thoughts and opinions in response to this article.

You must login to post a comment.