Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

1 June 2016

Inaugural Art Music Fund grants awarded to 12 composers

Sandy Evans Image: Sandy Evans  
© Australian Composer Polaroid Project / Jim Rolon 2015

Twelve composers have been awarded grants worth a total of $100,000 in the inaugural Art Music Fund, presented by APRA AMCOS with support from the Australian Music Centre. The successful applicants include established and emerging composers, with 45% of funding going to female composers. Their projects traverse chamber music, electronics, non-Western music and jazz.

'We were thrilled to receive more than 100 applications for the first Art Music Fund round', said Nigel Westlake, composer, APRA Writer Board Member and, until recently, Chair of the Australian Music Centre. 'Ten applications received funding, and the diversity of the recipients and their work highlights the innovative nature of the art music sector', he said.

The Art Music Fund was established to provide much-needed support for classical, jazz and experimental composers to both compose and perform their works. Applications were assessed on the viability of the proposed project, the quality of the work, and the strategy for the life and reach of the work.

2016 Art Music Fund grant recipients

Sandy Evans (NSW) - for Bridge of Dreams, a major international intercultural work for 17-piece big band, Hindustani quartet (voice, harmonium, two tabla players) and saxophone soloist.

Alexander Garsden (VIC) - for Alfa Canvas, after Agnes Martin for percussionist and fixed electronics (12-15 minutes) and tolle lege, tolle lege for percussion quartet and live electronics (25-30 minutes.

Samuel Holloway (NZ) - for a substantial piece for piano trio, approximately 15 minutes in duration.

Cat Hope (WA), Mark Oliveiro (NSW) and Meg Travers (WA) - for a series of chamber concertos in single movement, of 10 minutes' duration, for electronic soloist and a six-piece ensemble (Decibel).

James Hullick (VIC) - for CityTopias, a suite of four new works, to be toured in Asia, composed for the BOLT Ensemble (octet) and sonic technologies that explore the notion of the affix of -topia, and how it relates to our imaginings of 21st-century society.

Lisa Illean (London/NSW) - for a new work for soprano and medium-sized ensemble, for world premiere in Australia in 2017.

Liza Lim (VIC) - for a major new work of 40 minutes' duration entitled Wayfaring in the Weather World for the internationally renowned Ensemble Klangforum Wien, based in Vienna.

Matthias Schack-Arnott (VIC) - for the creation of an ambitious new solo percussion work, Field Sever Points, featuring an expansive kinetic percussion instrument.

Dan Thorpe (SA) - for [ false cognate ] for bass flute and electric guitar (or viola).

Erkki Veltheim (VIC) - to create, perform and record a 60-minute work for electric violin and live electronics, entitled The Ganzfeld Experiment.

Further links

'Liza Lim, Sandy Evans & Cat Hope among recipients of 2016 Art Music Fund grants' - a media release on APRA AMCOS website (1 June 2016)

APRA AMCOS Art Music Fund - further information (AMC Online)


Be the first to share add your thoughts and opinions in response to this article.

You must login to post a comment.