Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

2 March 2016

Brett Dean wins the Don Banks Music Award

Brett Dean Image: Brett Dean  
© Pawel Kopczynski

Composer and violist Brett Dean has been awarded the prestigious Australia Council Don Banks Music Award. Other Australia Council Award winners this year are writer and librettist David Malouf (Lifetime Achievement in Literature), interdisciplinary artist Kelli McCluskey (Emerging & Experimental Arts), dancer-choreographer Lucy Guerin (Dance), Richard Bell (Visual Arts), Yaron Lifschitz (Theatre), Lily Shearer and Nathan Stoneham (Community Arts and Cultural Development).

The Australia Council Awards recognise the significant achievements and contribution an artist has made to the vibrancy of Australian arts. Past recipients of the Don Banks Award include Archie Roach (2015), Mike Nock (2014), Kev Carmody (2013), Jon Rose (2012), Belinda Webster (2011) and Warren Fahey (2010).

The Award ceremony will be held in Sydney on 10 March.

> 2016 Australia Council Awards (Australia Council for the Arts website)

> Brett Dean (AMC profile)

Subjects discussed by this article:


Be the first to share add your thoughts and opinions in response to this article.

You must login to post a comment.