Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

9 August 2011

ASQ National Composers' Forum 2011 - participants and commissions

The Australian String Quartet Image: The Australian String Quartet  

The Australian String Quartet has received 33 compositions from emerging Australian composers in response to its call for submissions for the National Composers' Forum on 12-14 August. With the support of composers in residence, Matthew Hindson and James Ledger, the ASQ have selected four works for further exploration during a weekend of workshops and forums at the University of Adelaide: Daniel Masmanian's Bad Angel Fire, James Wade's Event Horizon, Michael Sollis's So she moaned, and as she uttered her moans, and Benjamin Betelli's Quartet no. 2 in C Major (1st movement).

The National Composers' Forum program will also include the following new commissions: Melody Eötvös's How Dragonflies Cross the Ocean, and Amy Bastow's Breathing Through a Hole.

These workshops are organised with the Australian Music Centre as a supporting partner.

Further links

ASQ National Composers' Forum (ASQ website)

The Australian Music Centre connects people around the world to Australian composers and sound artists. By facilitating the performance, awareness and appreciation of music by these creative artists, it aims to increase their profile and the sustainability of their art form. Established in 1974, the AMC is now the leading provider of information, resources, materials and products relating to Australian new music.


Be the first to share add your thoughts and opinions in response to this article.

You must login to post a comment.