Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

28 June 2018

Art Music Awards ceremony in Melbourne on 21 August 2018

Art Music Awards ceremony in Melbourne on 21 August 2018

APRA AMCOS and the Australian Music Centre will present the 2018 Art Music Awards at a gala event on Tuesday 21 August at the Plaza Ballroom, Melbourne. The annual Art Music Awards, now in its 8th year, recognise achievement in the composition, performance, education and presentation of Australian art music, covering activity across contemporary classical music, contemporary jazz and improvised music, experimental music and sound art.

Finalists for the 2018 Art Music Awards will be announced on Tuesday 17 July. Awards will be presented in 11 National categories, along with an award for each Australian state or territory. In addition, the APRA Board of Directors will present the award for Distinguished Services to Australian Music. Previous recipients of this honour include Richard Gill OAM, George Dreyfus AM, Helen Gifford OAM and Peter Sculthorpe.

Dean Ormston, incoming APRA AMCOS Chief Executive, said the Awards are a tribute to the outstanding efforts of individuals and organisations who continue to champion Australian art music in diverse contexts, both in Australia and internationally.

'The Art Music Awards honour the innovative and inspiring work of the many composers, creators, educators and organisations that are making a difference in Australia and beyond. We are looking forward to an evening that acknowledges such a vital and trailblazing music community.'

The live performance program will be curated by renowned pianist and passionate exponent of contemporary music, Gabriella Smart. Actor, director, and entertainer Jonathan Biggins will host the event.

> Find out more about the annual Art Music Awards, including categories and previous winners (AMC Online)


Be the first to share add your thoughts and opinions in response to this article.

You must login to post a comment.