Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

6 December 2012

Albert H Maggs Award 2012 to Andrew Ford

Andrew Ford Image: Andrew Ford  
© Jim Rolon (2012)

Andrew Ford has won the 2012 Albert H Maggs Award for Composition. The winning work, Rauha, was commissioned by ANAM and first performed there in May 2010.

The annual award comes in the form of a commission ($7,000) and a performance subsidy. Ford will write an extended solo flute piece called Once upon a time there were two brothers for Sally Walker. Over the years, Ford has written solo works for piccolo (Les débris d'un rêve), alto flute (Spinning; Female nude) and bass flute (Becalmed), but never before for a C flute.

A list of all Albert H. Maggs Composition Award winners is available on the AMC website. For more information, see also Louise Hanson-Dyer Music Library (University of Melbourne) website.

Further links

Andrew Ford (AMC profile)
Andrew Ford (www.andrewford.net.au)
'Andrew Ford awarded Albert H Maggs Composition Award' (The University of Melbourne website)

Subjects discussed by this article:

The Australian Music Centre connects people around the world to Australian composers and sound artists. By facilitating the performance, awareness and appreciation of music by these creative artists, it aims to increase their profile and the sustainability of their art form. Established in 1974, the AMC is now the leading provider of information, resources, materials and products relating to Australian new music.


Be the first to share add your thoughts and opinions in response to this article.

You must login to post a comment.