Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

3 September 2019

2019 APRA Professional Development Awards - finalists

Wally Gunn Image: Wally Gunn  
© Thom Rigney

The finalists for the 2019 APRA Professional Development Awards (PDAs) have been announced, with AMC-represented Amanda Cole, Colin Black, Rhyan Clapham and Wally Gunn among the 40 shortlisted artists. Finalists for the art music category also included Natasha Anderson and Tilman Robinson, while artists shortlisted in the Jazz category were Daniel Susnjar, Kristin Berardi, Matthew Keegan, Niran Jay Dasika and Steve Barry. Finalists for Film & Television were Angela Little, Jed Palmer, Matthew Chin, Piers Burbrook de Vere and Pru Montin.

Held every two years, the APRA PDAs create opportunities for emerging songwriters and composers in seven categories: Popular Contemporary, Art Music, Jazz, Film & Television, Country, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander and Dance/Electronic. Eight finalists have also been named for the Indigenous Music and Media Award from the Smugglers of Light foundation in memory of Eli Westlake. This award provides a promising Australian Indigenous music or media practitioner with a grant of $12,000.

For a full list of finalists, please see the APRA AMCOS website. The winners will be announced on Wednesday 25 September 2019.

Subjects discussed by this article:


Be the first to share add your thoughts and opinions in response to this article.

You must login to post a comment.