Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Symphony : full orchestra

by Nicholas Routley (2000, this version: 1999)



Add to cart


Symphony / Nicholas Routley

Library shelf no. Q 784.2/ROU 2 [Available for loan]


Hire Only

This item is available from our hire library.
Please contact our Hire Department to enquire about pricing and obtain this item.

Work Overview

The first movement of this symphony was inspired by the deep chanting of Tibetan monks. The second is structured on an expanding phrase played by the second violins and in nversion on the cellos. This structure, used a great deal by Arvo Pärt, is reminiscent of but not identical to that of the 17th century passacaglia. Against this other instruments or instrumental groups play repeated phrases at apparently arbitrary intervals, some at the same pitch and some at different pitches. It leads directly to the third movement which begins with a quotation from the 15th variation from Beethoven's Variations on a theme of Diabelli for piano, and continues with a hymn-like tune which my father, the theologian and church musician Erik Routley, played to me in a dream.

Work Details

Year: 2000, this version: 1999

Instrumentation: 2 flutes (both doubling piccolo), 2 oboes (2nd doubling cor anglais), 2 clarinets (2nd doubling bass clarinet), 2 bassoons, 4 horns, 2 trumpets, 3 trombones, timpani, percussion (1 player), strings.

Duration: 15 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

Contents note: I. Largo -- II. …the Passacaglia of the Expanding Universe Moderato - Piu presto -- III. Adagio molto - Andante con moto.

First performance: by Darwin Symphony Orchestra, Martin Jarvis — Nov 00. Darwin Entertainment Centre

The Darwin Symphony Orchestra, conductor Martin Jarvis. Darwin Entertainment Centre, November 2000


Performances of this work

Nov 00: Darwin Entertainment Centre. Featuring Darwin Symphony Orchestra, Martin Jarvis.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.