Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Pipeline : a work for symphony orchestra

by Cathy Applegate (2008)



This item is available for sale but is currently unable to be purchased online.
Please contact our Sales Department to place an order.


Pipeline : a work for symphony orchestra / Cathy Applegate.

Library shelf no. 784.2/APP 1 [Available for loan]


Hire Only

This item is available from our hire library.
Please contact our Hire Department to enquire about pricing and obtain this item.

Work Overview

The work is in three movements reflecting the various stages of the gas pipeline project.

Work Details

Year: 2008

Instrumentation: Piccolo, 2 flutes, 2 oboes, 2 clarinets, bass clarinet, 2 bassoons, 2-4 horns in F, 2 trumpets in B flat, 2  trombones, bass trombone, timpani, percussion, harp, strings.

Duration: 10 min.

Difficulty: Medium — AMEB grade 6 and above.

Contents note: 1. The Planning and Negotiation Phase-- 2. The Construction Phase -- 3. The Commissioning and Celebration Phase.

First performance: by Darwin Symphony Orchestra, Leif Sundstrup — Mar 10. Charles Darwin University Theatre, Darwin

The music is in the traditional classical style. The middle section of the first movement references indigenous music and chant. The second movement is powerfully rhythmic with an anvil added to the percussion section. The third movement is triumphant with grand string melodies.

Commissioned by Mick McCormack, Managing Director of the APA Group to celebrate the building of the Bonaparte Gas Pipeline in 2008. This underground pipeline is 280km long and travels across some of the most isolated and beautiful parts of the Northern Territory. The composer's brief included direction that the work must be easily accessible to audiences.

Performances of this work

Mar 10: Charles Darwin University Theatre, Darwin. Featuring Darwin Symphony Orchestra, Leif Sundstrup.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.