Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Fourteen lines : Shakespeare on love, time and poetry

by Cathy Applegate (2011)

Fourteen lines


Add to cart


Fourteen lines : Shakespeare on love, time and poetry / Cathy Applegate.

Library shelf no. Q 784.2/APP 1 [Available for loan]

Fourteen lines

Hire Only

This item is available from our hire library.
Please contact our Hire Department to enquire about pricing and obtain this item.

Work Overview

This work takes seven of Shakespeare's sonnets as inspiration. The sonnets are to be read over the music. A sonnet is a piece of poetry which has fourteen lines and a certain rhythm, hence the title of the work.

Shakespeares Sonnets demonstrate this famous poet's complete command of language as he explores, with such profound understanding and biting wit, the human condition.

I have tried to capture the essence of each of the 7 sonnets (chosen by Tom Pauling) and remain grateful to have had the opportunity to compose this work.

Work Details

Year: 2011

Instrumentation: 2 flutes, oboe, 2 clarinets in B flat, bass clarinet, 1-2 bassoons, 4 horns in F, 2 trumpets in B flat, 2 trombones, bass trombone, tuba, harp, strings, narrator/actor.

Duration: 12 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

Commission note: Commissioned by Darwin Symphony Orchestra.

First performance: by Darwin Symphony Orchestra, Leif Sundstrup, Tom Pauling — 13 Sep 11. Alice Springs Desert Park, Northern Territory

Performances of this work

12 Mar 2016: at Darwin Symphony Orchestra (Darwin Convention Centre). Featuring Darwin Symphony Orchestra.

10 May 2015: at Arafura Ensemble: Women in Chamber Music (Supreme Court, Darwin). Featuring Arafura Ensemble.

13 Sep 11: Alice Springs Desert Park, Northern Territory. Featuring Darwin Symphony Orchestra, Leif Sundstrup, Tom Pauling.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.