Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Interwoven : String Quartet No. 1

by Elizabeth Younan (2019)

Also known as: String Quartet No. 1

Work Overview

The title Interwoven reflects the music's compact architecture. Tightly structured polyphony is the core of the work, with chromatic lines continuously overlapping and evolving to create a cohesive and organic structure.

Movements are to be played with little breaks in between.

Work Details

Year: 2019

Instrumentation: 2 violins, viola, cello.

Duration: 17 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

Dedication note: Dedicated to Cathy Brown-Watt, Goldner String Quartet

Commission note: Commissioned by Cathy Brown-Watt for performance by Musica Viva Society of Australia.

First performance: by Goldner String Quartet — 29 Mar 17. Musica Viva Sydney Coffee Concert, Independent Theatre, Sydney

Composed between 2016 and 2019.

First movement composed for the Sydney Conservatorium of Music 'Composing Women' program. 2nd & 3rd movements commissioned for Musica Viva Australia by Catherine Brown-Watt.

Revised August 2019.



Performances of this work

11 Dec 19: Field Concert Hall, The Curtis Institute of Music, Pennsylvania, USA.

23 Nov 18: Huntington Estate Music Festival, Mudgee, NSW . Featuring Orava Quartet.

29 Mar 17: Musica Viva Sydney Coffee Concert, Independent Theatre, Sydney. Featuring Goldner String Quartet.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.