Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Silent Spring : five symphonic images

by Mark Pollard (2012)

Silent Spring


Add to cart


Silent Spring : for full orchestra / Mark Pollard.

Library shelf no. Q 784.2/POL 7 [Available for loan]

Work Overview

Fifty years ago, on September 27, 1962, Rachel Carson published her book Silent Spring. This book is generally considered to be the launching pad for the contemporary environment movement. It was, in a sense, the author's reaction to a 1957 lawsuit against the U.S. Department of Agriculture regarding aerial spraying over Long Island. This orchestral work is a set of five sound images inspired by the illumination of environmental impact articulated by Rachael Carson. It offers anniversary homage to Rachel Carson via a sonic dramatic narrative of past natural environments and is an attempt to capture the unique sense of beauty and sense of place as remembered by the composer since his birth in 1957.

Work Details

Year: 2012

Instrumentation: Piccolo, 2 flutes (2nd doubling alto flute), oboe, cor anglais, clarinet in B flat, bass clarinet in B flat, bassoon, contrabassoon, 4 horns in F, 3 trumpets in B flat, 2 trombones, bass trombone, tuba, timpani, percussion (3 players: Perc.1: glockenspiel, xylophone, crotales, tubular bells, woodblock, claves, large tam tam ; Perc.2: marimba, vibraphone (shared), glockenspiel, tubular bells (shared), sizzle cymbal, shaker, claves, large orchestral bass drum ;  Perc.3: vibraphone, tubular bells (shared), large orchestral bass drum (shared), snare drum), harp, celesta, strings.

Duration: 35 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

Commission note: Composed for University of Melbourne Doctor of Music submission

The composer notes the following styles, genres, influences, etc associate with this work:
Style related to composers: John Adams, Nigel Westlake

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.