Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Earth plays I-IV (mezzo-soprano with orchestra)

by Cathy Milliken (2015)

Earth plays I-IV


Add to cart


Earth plays I-IV / Cathy Milliken.

Library shelf no. 783.6754/MIL 1 [Available for loan]

Work Details

Year: 2015

Instrumentation: Mezzo-soprano, piccolo, 2 flutes, 2 oboes, cor anglais, 2 clarinets, 2 bassoons, contrabassoon, 4 horns, 3 trumpets, 2 trombones, bass trombone, tuba, percussion (4 players), strings (

Contents note: I. Introduction -- II. Pingvellir -- III. Epidauros -- IV. Gohyaku Rakan -- V. Radio City Hall.

Commission note: Commissioned by Musica Viva of the Bavarian Radio for Mezzo Soprano and Orchestra, with funding assistance from the Music Board of the Australia Council

First performance: by Fiona Campbell, Peter Rundel, Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra — 4 Dec 15. Herkulessaal Munich, Germany.

All movements of Earth Plays – including Þingvellir, Epidauros, Gohyaku Rakan and Radio City Hall – can be performed as stand alone movements. Þingvellir is the only movement without voice.

Winner of Orchestral Work of the Year, Art Music Awards, 2016

Awards & Prizes

Year Award Placing Awarded for/to
2016 Art Music Awards: Work of the Year: Orchestral Winner Cathy Milliken


Interview [Audio]: Cathy Milliken interview
Interviewed by Briandain O'Shea (Producer), for Tall-Poppies.com
Cathy Milliken has been an artist many young Australian musicians have looked up to when they have travelled abroad to continue their studies in Europe. A renowned oboist, composer and music educator, Cathy has held key positions with two of the world’s leading music ensembles, Ensemble Modern and the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra.

Resonate article: 2016 Art Music Awards finalists - comments by judging panels by Australian Music Centre

Performances of this work

2016: Tectonics Festival. Featuring Adelaide Symphony Orchestra, Jessica Aszodi, Ilan Volkov.

4 Dec 15: Herkulessaal Munich, Germany.. Featuring Fiona Campbell, Peter Rundel, Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.