Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Violin concertino : summer stories : for violin and piano

by Matthew Hindson (2009)

Also known as: Summer stories

Violin concertino


Add to cart

Score & Part

Violin concertino : summer stories, for violin and piano / Matthew Hindson

Library shelf no. 787.2/HIN 5 [Available for loan]

Work Overview

Summer is my favorite season of the year. In Australia everyone is more relaxed in summer: taking time out, going on holidays and enjoying outdoor activities. Each of the movements of this piece is inspired by an aspect of summer in this country. The first movement, Moderato, is based upon the long, flat roads of inland Australia. Travelling down these roads in a car, the outside heat bakes the bitumen and the wider landscape, producing a shimmering effect. It is symptomatic of a country which has existed for millions of years, and which will exist for millions more, long past humankind.

The second movement, Molto Andante, is also inspired heat by the image of an elderly person reminiscing on their verandah at a summer day's end, remembering friends and relatives long passed away. Fun at the beach is a typical aspect of summer in Australia enjoyed by millions of people every year. The playful mood of the final movement, Vivace Giocoso, was written with this in mind.

Work Details

Year: 2009

Instrumentation: Violin, piano

Duration: 15 min.

Difficulty: Medium — Approx. AMEB grades 7 to A.Mus.A

Contents note: i. Moderato -- ii. Molto andante -- iii. Vivace giocoso.

Commission note: Commissioned by Michael Patterson, Ars Musica Australis.


User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.