Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

Sounding postmodernism


Sounding postmodernism : sampling Australian composers, sound artists and music critics / David Bennett

  • 536 p. : ports. ; 23 cm.
  • Published by Australian Music Centre — 2008
  • Purchase Price: $50.91 (Usually ships in 3-8 business days) — Add to Cart
  • Library Availability: 780.994/24 — Available for loan


Add to Cart

Usually ships in 3-8 business days

Shipping Info

Product details

'What is postmodernism, and what does it have to do with music? In this book, David Bennett offers an unusually lucid, jargon-free exposition of the theories and debates surrounding this concept, arguing persuasively for its continuing relevance to contemporary music and culture. And because the postmodern is nothing if not local, he includes interviews with three dozen Australian composers and sound-artists, who explain their music and careers in their own words. A deft combination of cultural analysis and ethnographic documentation, Sounding Postmodernism invites us to rethink the stakes of our moment in music history.'
- Susan McClary, Professor of Musicology, UCLA

'This book is a very timely and welcome addition to the literature on Australian music. Timely because it articulates a powerful case for why reports of the death of "postmodernism" may indeed be premature, and welcome, because it displays what the very best kind of postmodern scholarship can do: take a people, a culture, a repertoire (here Australian 'art' music), one otherwise considered to be on the periphery of the Great Tradition, and place it smack bang in the centre of a powerful history of ideas. The book would be praiseworthy for Bennett's masterly survey and analysis of the theoretical field alone; but its unique value comes from its showing how the theory of postmodernism relates here to its practitioners. For those on either side of the academy who might underestimate the significance of either theory or practice, this is a book that invites us to think again.'
- Dr. Peter Tregear, musicologist

ISBN: 9780909168643

Includes Reference List and index.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this item.

To post a comment please login