Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

Six Organ Concertos - G. F. Handel


Six Organ Concertos - G. F. Handel / Andrew Blackburn, organ

  • Published by Move Records [MCD289] — 1 CD
  • Purchase Price: $22.73 (Usually ships in 1-6 days) — Add to Cart
  • Library Availability: This item is not available from the Australian Music Centre Library


Add to Cart

Usually ships in 1-6 days

Shipping Info

Product details

On 27th September 1738, John Walsh announced "To all Lovers of Musick" in the Daily Post:

"Whereas there is a spurious and incorrect Edition of Six Concerto's of Mr. Handel's for the Harpsichord and Organ, publish'd without the Knowledge or Consent of the Author, This is to give Notice, (That the Publick may not be imposed on with a mangled Edition) That there are now printing from Mr. Handel's original Manuscript, and corrected by himself, the same Six Concerto's which will be published in a few Days. Price 3s."

Handel himself warned against the pirate edition in the Daily Post in October, and subsequently on the title page of all subsequent editions. The title page of the keyboard part promised orchestral parts 'in a few days' but these did not appear till the end of 1738.

This gorgeous recording is the first of this version of the Opus 4 Concertos and is beautifully made Ð sound and performances have received the highest acclaim. The 1888 Fincham instrument is a small organ and admirably suited to the music. Its clear, bright sounds are perfect for this performance, relying on the instrument's clarity of articulation and texture.

The music is highly dramatic in style showing Handel's genius as a dramatic composer and his skill in strict counterpoint. Much of the music is known in other forms, instrumentation and contexts Ð HŠndel never being one to recycle his best music Ð and this collection includes some of his finest!


Track Listing

Concerto 1 in G minor

1. Largo
2. Allegro
3. Adagio
4. Andante

Concerto 2 in B flat Major

5. A tempo ordinario
6. Allegro
7. Adagio
8. Allegro ma non presto

Concerto 3 in G minor

9. Adagio
10. Allegro
11. Adagio
12. Gavotte

Concerto 4 in F Major

13. Allegro
14. Andante
15. Adagio
16. Allegro

Concerto 5 in F Major

17. Larghetto
18. Allegro
19. Alla siciliana
20. Presto

Concerto 6 in B flat Major

21. Andante Allegro
22. Larghetto
23. Allegro Moderato


Press Quotes

“Andrew Blackburn's playing and readings are splendid, always penetrating to the heart of the music, with clean articulation, rhythmic accuracy and judicious use of the pedals.”

3MBS FM Libretto, June-July 2006

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this item.

To post a comment please login