Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

Dvořák’s Cello Concerto


Dvořák’s Cello Concerto

  • Date: Friday, 8 August 2014, 7:30
  • Venue: Federation Concert Hall, Hobart — 1 Davey St, Hobart, TAS
  • Tickets: $29 - $86 — Tickets can be purchased by phone on 1800 001 190

Event Details

PROKOFIEV Symphony No 1, Classical

SCHOENBERG Chamber Symphony No 2

DVORAK Cello Concerto

KOEHNE The Persistence of Memory

"Few pieces of music are as moving as Dvořák’s Cello Concerto. Composed for the great Czech cellist Hanuš Wihan in the mid-1890s, it combines technical virtuosity with heartfelt emotion. In the course of writing the work, Dvořák received word of the death of a much loved friend, and the concerto takes on a beautifully serene tone as it makes its way towards its elegiac conclusion. Schoenberg’s Chamber Symphony No 2 is a landmark work of musical modernism while Prokofiev’s Classical Symphony brims with vitality and good humour.

"Pre-concert talk with Dr Maria Grenfell and Marko Letonja commences at 6.30pm." -- Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra

Featured non-Australian music: Dvorak, Prokofiev, Schoenberg

Further information for this event is available online at the event's website or by phone on 1800 001 190 or by email to boxoffice@tso.com.au

Featured Australian Works

The persistence of memory : elegy for oboe and string orchestra (2014) by Graeme Koehne — World premiere
— performed by David Nuttall, Marko Letonja and Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra

Featured artists

User reviews & comments

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions or insights about this event.

To post your comment please login