Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

Australia Piano Quartet: Edwards


Australia Piano Quartet: Edwards

  • Date: Sunday, 10 December 2017, 3pm
  • Venue: Sydney Opera House, Utzon Room — Bennelong Point, Sydney, NSW
  • Tickets: Standard: $60 | Concession: $35 | SOH Member: $45 (booking fees apply) — Tickets can be purchased online or by phone on (02) 9250 7777

Event Details

Schubert’s first work for piano and strings and a precursor to his much-loved “Trout Quintet” is the ebullient Adagio and Rondo Concertante which he wrote at the age of 19. The piano takes centre stage in this work of sparkling brilliance in which Schubert’s charm and heavenly melodic gifts shine.

The Australia Piano Quartet are thrilled to unveil a new work by iconic Australian composer Ross Edwards. In 1999, Edwards’ Emerald Crossing for piano quartet painted in sound the scene of a canoe drifting across misty waters. In 2017, this evocative new companion work imagines a destination.

Sergei Taneyev is a central figure in the history of Russian music, highly regarded in his homeland but rarely performed in the West. The influence of Tchaikovsky, in whose class Taneyev studied, is clear to behold in his monumental Piano Quartet in E Major, Op.20. This is music of immense expressive generosity that displays Taneyev’s famed technical mastery to stunning effect.


FRANZ SCHUBERT - Adagio and Rondo Concertante in F major, D.487
ROSS EDWARDS - New Work, 2017 APQ commission
SERGEI TANEYEV - Piano Quartet in E major, Op.20


Andrew Haveron, guest violin
James Wannan, viola
Thomas Rann, cello
Daniel de Borah, piano

Featured non-Australian music: Schubert, Sergei Taneyev

Further information for this event is available online at the event's website or by phone on (02) 9250 7777

Featured artists

User reviews & comments

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions or insights about this event.

To post your comment please login