Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

Adelaide Festival 2021 - The Return : Incredible Floridas - Chamber Landscapes


Adelaide Festival 2021 - The Return : Incredible Floridas - Chamber Landscapes

  • Date: Sunday, 7 March 2021, 5pm
  • Venue: UKARIA Cultural Centre — 119 Williams Rd, Mt Barker Summit, SA
  • Series: This event is part of the Adelaide Festival 2021 series
  • Tickets: Adults: $69 | Concession: $55 — Tickets can be purchased online or by phone on 131246

Event Details

This event is part of the Incredible Floridas - Chamber Landscapes concert series curated by Kim Williams.

A gorgeous afternoon of rich string textures from Sutherland, Sculthorpe (his deeply moving Irkanda IV) and Glanville-Hicks, surrounding two ‘greatest hits’: Elena Kats-Chernin’s winsome Wild Swans Suite and Grainger’s outwardly breezy (but fiendishly difficult) riff on The Harmonious Blacksmith, Handel in the Strand. All delivered by definitive performers.


Jack Symonds, conductor
Dale Barltrop, leader & violin
James Wannan, viola
Suzanne Pederson, soprano
Geoffrey Collins, flutes
Jason Noble, clarinets
Claire Edwardes, percussion
John Gaden, poetry
Stephanie McCallum, piano
Janet Anderson, violin
Helen Ayres, violin
Lachlan Bramble, violin
Blair Harris, cello
Jonathon Coco, double bass
Australian String Quartet
Flinders Quartet


Anna Akhmatova (1889-1966): The Return (1944)
Margaret Sutherland (1897-1984): Concerto for Strings (1961)
Peter Sculthorpe (1929-2014): Irkanda IV (1961)
Peter Sculthorpe: Sonata for Strings (1983)
Elena Kats-Chernin (b. 1957): In Tension (1982)
Elena Kats-Chernin: Wild Swans: Concert suite (2005, arr. 2020) (world premiere)
Peggy Glanville-Hicks (1912-1990): Concerto Romantico (1956)
Percy Grainger: Harvest Hymn (1905-32)
Percy Grainger: Handel in the Strand (1911)

Featured non-Australian music: Anna Akhmatova (1889-1966)

Further information for this event is available online at the event's website or by email to stevp@adelaidefestival.com.au

Featured Australian Works

Concerto for strings : string orchestra (1953) by Margaret Sutherland
Concerto romantico (viola with chamber orchestra) by Peggy Glanville-Hicks
Handel in the Strand : chamber ensemble by Percy Grainger
Harvest hymn : large chamber ensemble by Percy Grainger
In tension : sextet (1982) by Elena Kats-Chernin
Irkanda IV : for solo violin, strings & percussion (1961) by Peter Sculthorpe
Sonata for strings : string orchestra (1983) by Peter Sculthorpe
Wild swans suite : chamber ensemble by Elena Kats-Chernin

User reviews & comments

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions or insights about this event.

To post your comment please login