Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

16 October 2012

Soundstream Young Composers' Awards: Eötvös, Phlox and Wright

Melody Eötvös Image: Melody Eötvös  

The inaugural Soundstream Young Composers' Awards have been presented to Melody Eötvös for her composition The King in Yellow, and runner-up Sebastian Phlox for his work Total Internal Reflection. Eötvös and Phlox were awarded the cash prizes of $5,000 and $2,000, respectively, for a future commission of new works for the Soundstream Collective. The People's Choice Award went to Melisande Wright.

The Soundstream Young Composers' Award concert showcasing the works of Eötvös, Phlox, Wright, Daniel Manera and Nicole Murphy will be broadcast on ABC Classic FM's New Music Up Late program on Saturday 20 October.

AMC resources

Melody Eötvös - AMC profile
Melisande Wright - AMC profile
Nicole Murphy - AMC profile

Further links

Soundstream: Adelaide New Music Festival 2012 (http://www.soundstream.org.au)
'Soundstream takes a turn at new music community's crossroads' - a review of the festival by Graham Strahle in The Australian (16 October 2012)

Subjects discussed by this article:

The Australian Music Centre connects people around the world to Australian composers and sound artists. By facilitating the performance, awareness and appreciation of music by these creative artists, it aims to increase their profile and the sustainability of their art form. Established in 1974, the AMC is now the leading provider of information, resources, materials and products relating to Australian new music.


Be the first to share add your thoughts and opinions in response to this article.

You must login to post a comment.