Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

14 May 2015

Scott McIntyre wins the 2014 Jean Bogan Prize

Scott McIntyre Image: Scott McIntyre  

The winners of the 2014 Jean Bogan Prize for Piano Composition have been announced by the Newcastle Conservatorium of Music. The $8,000 Jean Bogan Prize goes to Scott McIntyre for his Piano Sonata No. 2, and the $1,500 Jean Bogan Youth Prize goes to Elizabeth Younan for her work Persian Preludes.

A concert of the winning works will be presented on 29 October 2015 in the Harold Lobb Concert Hall at the Newcastle Conservatorium of Music.

Established in 1989 through the generosity of Mr Laurie Bogan as a memorial to his wife, the Jean Bogan Prize is the only one of its kind in Australia. Since its inception, the prize has produced fine piano compositions, including works by leading Australian composers such as Elena Kats-Chernin, Andrew Ford, Nigel Westlake and Brenton Broadstock.

> Jean Bogan Prize winner announcement on the Newcastle Conservatorium website

Subjects discussed by this article:


Be the first to share add your thoughts and opinions in response to this article.

You must login to post a comment.