Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

15 May 2019

Opportunity: APRA AMCOS Professional Development Awards

Opportunity: APRA AMCOS Professional Development Awards

The 2019 APRA AMCOS Professional Development Awards are now open for applications. These biennial Awards exist to provide support to emerging composers and songwriters. Nine awards will be given out, with each recipient receiving a $15,000 cash prize to support their development, including helping recipients to attend workshops, music education courses, composer seminars, co-writing sessions and other relevant activities, in Australia or overseas.

Awards are presented across seven categories:

1. Popular Contemporary (three awards are given in this category including Pop, Rock, Blues, Folk, Hip Hop and R&B);
2. Country;
3. Jazz;
4. Art Music;
5. Dance/Electronic;
6. Film and Television;
7. Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander.

In addition the Smugglers of Light initiative will again provide a promising Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander music or media practitioner with a grant of $12,000.

The Australian Music Centre is one of APRA's partner organisations for the Professional Development Awards. Before submitting your application, please ensure you read the 'How to Apply' guide available on the APRA AMCOS website.

Applications for the Smugglers of Light Foundation Music and Media Award close on Friday 12 July June at 5pm AEST [note that this deadline has been extended] and applications for the Professional Development Awards close on Thursday 27 June at 5pm AEST.

> Information and online applications - APRA AMCOS website


Be the first to share add your thoughts and opinions in response to this article.

You must login to post a comment.