Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

4 September 2019

Melbourne Prize 2019 - finalists

May Lyon Image: May Lyon  

The 2019 Melbourne Prize for Music finalists have been announced. Soprano, composer Deborah Cheetham, composer/songwriter David Bridie, pianist-composer Andrea Keller, composer-improviser Erkki Veltheim, and cross-disciplinary performance-maker Sophia Brous have been shortlisted for the $60,000 prize for 'an outstanding Victorian musician or group whose work demonstrates exceptional musicianship, skill and creativity'.

Finalists for the $12,500 Beleura Emerging Composers' Award include the AMC-represented composers Annie Hui-Hsin Hsieh, Andrea Keller, and May Lyon, as well as singer-songwriter Sophie Koh and composer and sound designer Tilman Robinson.

Finalists for the $18,500 Development Award are clarinet player, improviser and composer Aviva Endean, soul/hip hop artist Mojo Juju, saxophonist Scott McConnachie, singer-songwriter Kaiit Waup, and violinist Elizabeth Welsh.

Winners will be announced on Wednesday 13 November.

The voting is also now open for the $3,000 Civic Choice Award, which will be awarded on 29 November to a finalist, across all categories, with the highest number of public votes.

> For finalist announcement and to vote for your candidate for the Civic Choice Award, please see the Melbourne Prize website.


Be the first to share add your thoughts and opinions in response to this article.

You must login to post a comment.