Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

26 February 2016

Julian Yu receives 2015 Albert H Maggs Composition Award

Julian Yu Image: Julian Yu  
© Martin Wright, Move Records

The 2015 Albert H Maggs Composition Award has been presented to Julian Yu for his symphonic suite For our Natural World, a large-scale orchestral work commissioned by Tokyo's Suntory Hall. The Maggs Award is decided by an interstate committee of composers from the University of Melbourne and the University of Sydney, and the Award comes in the form of a new commission.

'This year's Albert Maggs Award attracted an unusually large field of entries. However, even against strong competition, Julian Yu's symphonic suite For our Natural World stood out as a clear winner', said Elliott Gyger, Senior Lecturer in Composition at the Melbourne Conservatorium of Music. 'For our Natural World reflects on mankind's relationship with the earth in four dramatic movements. It pursues a trajectory from light to dark, closing with a long drawn-out and powerfully moving "Elegy for the Earth". We look forward to the new work that Dr Yu will compose in response to the commission that the award presents.'

Julian Yu studied composition at the Central Conservatory of Music in Beijing, and at the Tokyo College of Music. He has been a Composition Fellow at Tanglewood and received a DMus from the Melbourne Conservatorium in 2004, where he is an Honorary Fellow. He has had his work performed throughout the world, including performances by the London Sinfonietta, BBC Symphony Orchestra and Tokyo Symphony Orchestra, and composed work for the Beijing Olympic Games.

> Press release on the University of Melbourne website
> Julian Yu - AMC profile

Subjects discussed by this article:


Be the first to share add your thoughts and opinions in response to this article.

You must login to post a comment.