Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

10 April 2013

Don Banks Music Award to Kev Carmody

Don Banks Music Award to Kev Carmody

The $60,000 Australia Council Don Banks Music Award has been presented to singer, storyteller, activist and artist Kev Carmody for his outstanding contribution to Australian music. The ceremony took place in Brisbane on Monday.

'Kev Carmody is a talented and distinctively Australian artist, a storyteller of depth and integrity as well as an extraordinary advocate for the rights and values of Indigenous Australians', said Matthew Hindson, current Chair of the Australia Council Music Board. 'From blunt protest songs to poetic ballads, he performs with a clarity and grace that has won him fans across Australia and around the world. Kev's music is an invaluable collection for the nation, but his contribution to music is greater than songs and stories. So much can be learned from his approach to recording. His favourite studio is a converted cold room and fruit packing shed, and if he's searching for a certain sound he'll often make the instrument to achieve it, creating unique and beautiful effects.'

The annual Don Banks Music Award was established in honour of Don Banks, Australian composer, performer, and the first Chair of the Music Board. Initially established to recognise Australian composers, nominations are now invited from all areas of music. The purpose of the Australia Council Don Banks Music Award is to honour an artist of high distinction who has made an outstanding and sustained contribution to Australian music over a period of many years. The award is intended for artists over the age of 50, and is granted only once in an artist's lifetime. Nominations are accepted from individuals and arts organisations but artists may not nominate themselves

Past winners of the prize from 1996 onwards are: Richard Mills, Richard Meale, Bernie McGann, Brenton Broadstock, Bunna Lawrie, Allan Browne, Lyndall Hendrickson, John Curro, Jan Sedivka, Carl Vine, Richard Gill, Peter Sculthorpe, Bob Sedergreen, Tony Gould, Warren Fahey, Belinda Webster and Jon Rose.

Further links

Media release (Australia Council for the Arts website)

The Australian Music Centre connects people around the world to Australian composers and sound artists. By facilitating the performance, awareness and appreciation of music by these creative artists, it aims to increase their profile and the sustainability of their art form. Established in 1974, the AMC is now the leading provider of information, resources, materials and products relating to Australian new music


Be the first to share add your thoughts and opinions in response to this article.

You must login to post a comment.