Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

13 February 2009

Classical Music Awards 2009: call for nominations

Jazz pioneer Judy Bailey received the 2008 award for Distinguished Services to Australian Music Image: Jazz pioneer Judy Bailey received the 2008 award for Distinguished Services to Australian Music  
© Bridget Elliot

It is time to have your say about the new music year of 2008. Who composed the most impressive or thought-provoking pieces, played the most brilliant performances, organised the best events? Who should be awarded for tireless work for the new music community? Who opened your ears with new sounds and made you listen afresh? Who made a difference?

The Classical Music Awards, presented yearly by APRA and the Australian Music Centre, recognise the best compositions and performances, outstanding contributions by individuals, organisations and educators all over Australia. There are eleven national awards and an award for each state and territory.

Nominations can be made through the quick and easy instant nomination process by 27 March (we'll take care of the support materials for you) or through the full nomination procedure with complete support materials by 1 May. Forms for both categories are available on the AMC Awards website as well as below. The awards are judged by leading composers, performers, musicologists, educators and critics.

Dates and links

Further links

The Australian Music Centre connects people around the world to Australian composers and sound artists. By facilitating the performance, awareness and appreciation of music by these creative artists, it aims to increase their profile and the sustainability of their art form. Established in 1974, the AMC is now the leading provider of information, resources, materials and products relating to Australian new music.


Be the first to share add your thoughts and opinions in response to this article.

You must login to post a comment.