Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

14 November 2013

Brett Dean wins the Melbourne Prize for Music

Brett Dean wins the Melbourne Prize for Music
© Pawel Kopczynski

Brett Dean has won the 2013 Melbourne Prize, awarded yearly to a Victorian musician, or group of musicians, whose work has made an outstanding contribution to Australian music. Also shortlisted for the $60,000 prize were composer and pianist Tony Gould, musician and composer Mick Harvey (The Bad Seeds, The Birthday Party), singer-songwriter Shane Howard and violinist Wilma Smith.

In addition to the main prize, the Outstanding Musician Award of $30,000 went to guitarist Stephen Magnusson (also shortlisted: Ros Bandt, Grigoryan Brothers, Gian Slater, Eugene Ughetti, Erkki Veltheim, Bart Willoughby, Ainslie Wills, Julien Wilson and Lisa Young). The $13,000 Development Award went to jazz pianist/vocalist/saxophonist and composer Kate Kelsey-Sugg. The shortlist for the Development Award also included Michael BakrnĨev, Helen Croome, Jessica Jiang and Adam Katz.

The prize-winners were announced in Melbourne on Wednesday.

Further links

Melbourne Prize website (melbourneprizetrust.org)
Media release - winners (pdf, 13 November 2013)


Be the first to share add your thoughts and opinions in response to this article.

You must login to post a comment.